17 Comments
Apr 11Liked by Susan Campbell

Well, one good thing for which I am grateful is that you've found this space to share views more freely than you can in newspaper columns -- though I do also appreciate that you've recently been taking those right up to the line, as well. Thanks for being here.

Expand full comment
Apr 11Liked by Susan Campbell

This nation is unwilling to see the truth of its vanities. That is the womb from which great stupidity is born.

Expand full comment
Apr 11Liked by Susan Campbell

I just want him to go away, forever. I don’t want to see him, hear his voice, or read anything that he writes. Disappear please forever.

Expand full comment

I'm shopping for a red dress to wear when I dance in celebration of reading his obituary.

Expand full comment
Apr 11Liked by Susan Campbell

Re the NY case: we need to refer to that as the election law crime and business fraud (falsifying business records) case - the actual criminal charges.

And nope: tfg should not be sending some invented "envoy" to chat with other nations on foreign policy nor should other nations discuss foreign relations with a citizen who is not part of the government.

Expand full comment
Apr 11Liked by Susan Campbell

There are good and hopeful things, so many of them, so all the time. The turn of the seasons bringing bee activity on the flowers-- our beekeeper friend says that all three hives are thriving*-- the fungi and earthworms and microorganisms accelerating their making of dead plants and animals into new and lively humus as the soil warms, the Easter of the world, in fact.

I am working my way through the mountain of maintenance, sustenance, and surprise repair tasks and taskings that I came home to do, and keeping my temper and good humor as I have to phone contractors over and over. (They are shy and tender as fauns, and they may likely just ghost me if I scawe them. But I wish they would phone back.) And while every beginning is a horror-- I know I'm boarding a ship for a mystery voyage-- it's going better than I would expect.

But I'm no less worried than I have been about the US people having been trapped in an avalanche of substanceless corporate-sponsored framing. Elections aren't about policy: they're about polls and rumors and withdrawing coverage of rightwing outrages and increasing nonsense accusations against leftwing people to achieve "balanced coverage." Food and health are about numbers, not about taste or how people feel and function.

We need so much more Taste and See.

* Bees are subject to tragedy.

Expand full comment
founding
Apr 11Liked by Susan Campbell

I want both parties to go away. Our two party system is broken. Congress owned by corporate lobbiest. Jill Stein and Cornell West too long a shot. So I will probably go with RFK. Which I only agree with 50% of the time but looking like the best shot to break the Democratic/Republican parties.

FYI Active-Duty U.S. Airman, Inspired by Aaron Bushnell, on Hunger Strike Outside White House over Gaza

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=nmwa_hIjxGM&pp=QACIAgDKBRRkZW1vY3JhY3kgbm93IGhlYmVydA%3D%3D&rco=1

Expand full comment

I can only dream of DJT accepting the invitation to visit The Ukraine and being eradicated by a random Russian missile. Makes me sick to even think about Donald the Demented, Despicable, and Despot-admiring Danger to America.

So I’ll focus on my great American church community that do kind acts every. single. day. Small ones-i.e. driving an elderly or disabled person to appointments or on errands, cooking or delivering hot meals to a person recovering from surgery or childbirth, babysitting for free for 2-3 hrs. for a single mom, making minor home repairs or doing lawn care for widows & single women. Others- donating new coats & underwear to the homeless, donating/collecting food for the local food bank, donating school supplies or backpacks to public school students in need, donating books & toys for the underprivileged. Visiting residents in assisted living facilities, mentoring people in educational subjects or spiritual disciplines, comforting the hurting. On a bigger scale- raising awareness statewide re human trafficking in CT and training DCF employees & law enforcement officers, helping women & youth escape from traffickers; dispensing money from a charitable fund for various purposes such as paying 1st month’s rent for needy person, paying for a car repair, buying hearing aids or specialized shoes, paying for a burial. Most unusual act of loving kindness: one church member donated a kidney to another member. I choose to believe my America is still great despite its problems. D’s MAGA- No Freakin’ Thanks!

Expand full comment
founding

The birds are back! And thanks to new hearing aids, I can hear them once again.

Expand full comment
founding

Thanks David for your reply. However even tho I have read some articles by Richard Reich, some very good, I tend to have gravitated over the years to the writers we are not able to see on Main Stream Mediasyarting with Susan. Writers like like Reich and David Brooks are part of the problem what they write needs to pass through the Mass media Editors. Guess who they meed to losten to. Thanks again for the recommendation tho and I suggest a person like Chris Hedges who ,like Susan, our leader here, is also on substack. Chris was fired from the New York Times in 2003 after criticizing the US invasion of Iraq. Even though he was NYT Bureau Chief in the Middle East at the time. No need to thank me for my service. Not that proud of being manipulated to serve a year in Vietnam . I am more interested in making our country less militarized for my grandkids. Therefore, not voting Democrat or Republican.

Thanks Again Jim

Corporations Run the World

Chris Hedges

https://therealnews.com/silent-coup-how-capitalism-defeated-decolonization

Active-Duty U.S. Airman, Inspired by Aaron Bushnell, on Hunger Strike Outside White House over Gaza

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=nmwa_hIjxGM&pp=ygUuRGVtb2NyYWN5IG5vdyB2ZXRlcmFucyBmb3IgcGVhY2UgaHVuZ2VyIHN0cmlrZQ%3D%3D&rco=1

Veterams for Peace

https://www.veteransforpeace.org/

Expand full comment